Writing and Being a Mom

Being a mom is hard. Being a mom who is a writer is even harder.

I have three kids, which means there are fights, ferocious battles, verbal escalations (yelling), and tears. There’s also a lot of laughter, smiles, and delight. Dare I say, joy? Sometimes, they play together and actually get along. A lot of time, I play police, body guard, and referee.

I have a myriad of positions I fill that are part of the job description: I am a shuttle driver, a cheer leader, a short order cook. I am the person who does the grocery shopping, laundry, and cleaning of the house. I am the one who scoops the kitty litter and takes the dog for a walk.

I’m the one the kids go to when they fall down and scrape their knees. I am the buyer and applier of Band aids. I don’t faint from the sight of blood.

I am also a writer but being a mom and being a writer is very tough.The kids are almost always off from school. Let’s see… there’s summer break, fall break, winter break, ski week, spring break and other holidays. So that means a lot of days when it’s almost impossible to write. But I try to do it a little every day because it’s something I enjoy.

What else? I live in the suburbs outside of San Francisco. It’s called Silicon Valley. Home to Google, Facebook, Twitter, Apple, Tesla, NVIDIA, and many many more.

Besides this blog, I am writing novels. My manuscripts always have romance, life struggle, hope, and optimism. Also Intelligent female heroines. Sometimes, my characters drink wine. They love food. And apparently end up in Paris. Or London. Or Italy. Because by using these settings as a backdrop to the story, I can live vicariously through my characters. I have traveled to France, Spain, Italy, Greece, and Turkey but mostly spend my time in California. Someday, I hope to travel again for real. Thanks for coming along on the ride.

Leave a Reply

