Words kids use

My online dictionary defines slang as

  • the jargon of a particular class, profession, etc.
  • the special vocabulary of thieves, vagabonds, etc.; argot

 

So for today’s post, let’s focus on the special vocabulary of my little vagabonds. Last summer, my kids loved to use the word, ginormous. Picture three kids standing with noses pressed against a glass bakery case staring down at large chocolate chip cookies. And my youngest pipes up, “They’re ginormous.”

Ginormbakeryous got used so much that it accidentally slipped out of my mouth one day without me even realizing it. I stopped to think about what the real word was. Enormous? Large? Big? Those words just didn’t capture the size. “They’re enormous” Hmm…. Doesn’t wow me as much.

Now kids have all sorts of funny things they say. When they talk about money, for example, they don’t want to just be millionaires. They want to be gazillionaires.

When I was young, there was a time in California where everybody spoke ‘valley talk.’ Everyone at school used the words, ‘like’ and ‘way’.

For example, this would be an example of discussion between two guys.

“I was like so into her.”

“No way, dude.”

“Way.”

It took years and years to get these words out of our everyday speech and sometimes I hear it slip out.

As a writer, we come up with fun ways to use words. What special vocabulary do your young vagabonds use?

Leave a Reply

